OCUP2 logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

OCUP2 Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown

TL;DR
  • The OCUP2 Advanced exam is listed at US$350 plus taxes, with regional currency equivalents.
  • You must pass the UML 2 Foundation and Intermediate exams first, so budget for those too.
  • Cancel more than 24 hours before your slot for a full refund; failed candidates should check the score report for a 20% retake code.
  • The certification expires three years after the exam, so renewal is a recurring cost.

The Sticker Price: What the Exam Itself Costs

The OMG Certified UML Professional 2: Advanced exam (OCUP2 Advanced) carries a published fee of US$350 plus applicable taxes. OMG lists regional currency equivalents as well, so the amount you actually pay at checkout depends on where you test and on local tax rules. Because taxes are added on top, the checkout total can be higher than the headline number.

For that fee you receive a single sitting of a 90-question multiple-choice exam. The questions use text and images, which matters because many items present UML diagrams that you must read and interpret. The passing threshold is at least 57 correct answers out of 90, which OMG lists as at least 63%. The time allowance is 105 minutes in native English-speaking countries and 135 minutes everywhere else; confirm which allowance applies to you with the delivery provider before booking.

Why the fee only tells part of the story: The US$350 buys one attempt at the Advanced exam. It does not cover the prerequisite exams you must already hold, study materials, or the cost of a second attempt. A realistic budget looks at the whole path, not just this line item. For the eligibility side, see our guide to OCUP2 requirements, prerequisites and how to qualify.

Prerequisite Exams: The Cost Most Candidates Overlook

OCUP2 Advanced is the top tier of a three-level program. OMG requires that you have passed the UML 2 Foundation and UML 2 Intermediate examinations before the Advanced credential is awarded. If you have not yet sat those exams, their fees belong in your total cost of certification.

This is the single biggest source of budget surprises. A candidate who searches for the Advanced exam price and stops at US$350 may later discover that reaching that exam requires additional paid sittings. Check the current fee for each lower-level exam on the issuer's certification page at the time you plan to book, since this article does not state those figures.

  • Already hold Foundation and Intermediate (OCUP2 level): your incremental cost is the Advanced exam fee plus preparation.
  • Starting from scratch: add the fees for both earlier exams and the preparation time for each.
  • Holding an older OCUP credential: do not assume it substitutes for the OCUP2 prerequisites. The original OCUP and OCUP2 programs are distinct, and OMG's 2018 announcement describes the new program separately from the original Advanced examination. Verify with the issuer before you rely on an earlier credential.

If you are still weighing whether the whole ladder is worth climbing, our OCUP2 ROI analysis walks through the value side of the equation.

How Booking Through Pearson VUE Affects Your Spending

Exams are booked through Pearson VUE, and you can sit them either at a test center or online, subject to the provider's system test. Neither format changes the published exam fee, but each carries practical cost implications.

Test center delivery

A test center removes the technology risk. The trade-off is travel: if the nearest center is a long drive or requires a flight, fuel, parking, transit or time off work can add meaningfully to your total. Booking a slot close to home or work keeps this near zero.

Online delivery

Taking the exam online saves travel, but you must pass the provider's system test and have a suitable environment. Do the system test well before exam day. A failed technical check on the day itself can create rescheduling friction, and rescheduling interacts with the cancellation window described below.

Language and the time allowance: English is the published exam language, and translation apps are prohibited. Candidates who test outside native English-speaking countries receive 135 minutes instead of 105. That extra 30 minutes is part of what you are paying for, but it must be confirmed by the provider, so check it during booking rather than assuming. For scheduling details, see OCUP2 exam dates, testing windows and scheduling.

Cancellations, Refunds and the Retake Discount

Two policies from the issuer's published sheet directly affect how much you may end up spending.

The 24-hour cancellation rule

OMG states that canceling more than 24 hours before the scheduled exam permits a full refund.

  • Book only when you are reasonably confident of your readiness.
  • Put the cancellation deadline in your calendar the moment you book.
  • If your practice scores are still shaky a few days out, cancel inside the window rather than sitting underprepared.

The 20% retake discount

A candidate who does not pass should check the score report for a 20% retake discount code. On a US$350 exam that is a meaningful saving, but only if you read the report and apply the code correctly.

  • Look for the code on your score report immediately after the attempt.
  • Confirm how and where to apply it when rebooking.

One thing this article deliberately does not state is a mandatory waiting period between attempts. The issuer sheet as summarized here does not give a retake interval that we can verify, so check the current policy with the provider before planning a quick second attempt. To understand how likely a second attempt is, read our discussion of how hard the OCUP2 exam is and what we can and cannot say in OCUP2 pass rate: what the data shows.

Preparation Spending: Where Your Study Budget Should Go

The exam fee is fixed; preparation costs are the part you control. The OCUP2 Advanced exam is built on a defined set of standards, and knowing exactly which ones lets you avoid paying for material you do not need.

The standards you actually need

The official sheet identifies three reference specifications: UML v2.5.1, Alf v1.1 and fUML v1.5. These are published by OMG and available from the OMG website. Critically, the sheet lists specific chapters and subsections that are covered. The examinable scope is those boundaries, not the entirety of each specification and not every chapter of any recommended study book. Reading the sheet closely can save you dozens of hours.

Preparation resourceTypical roleCost consideration
OMG exam sheet (UML2-Advanced.pdf)Defines the scope, format and weightsPublished by the issuer; read it first
UML v2.5.1, Alf v1.1, fUML v1.5 specificationsPrimary source for covered chaptersAvailable from OMG; time-intensive rather than money-intensive
Study book or guideStructured explanation of the covered areasOptional; do not assume every chapter is examinable
Practice questionsBuilds diagram-reading and recall under timingUse the OCUP2 practice test platform to rehearse the 90-question format

Because the exam is image-heavy, practice that involves reading real diagrams is worth far more than rereading prose. Our OCUP2 study guide covers how to structure that preparation, and the OCUP2 cheat sheet is a compact refresher to use near the end.

Allocating Study Hours by Domain Weight

Money is only one currency; study time is the other. The best way to spend it is to follow the published weighting. The eleven content areas total 100%, and they are far from evenly distributed.

DomainWeightBudget implication
Common Structure21%Largest single area; give it the most hours
Classification14%Second priority
The MOF & Metamodeling12%Easy to neglect, yet worth more than several behavioral areas combined
Activities9%Pair with Actions
Interactions9%Diagram-heavy; practice reading sequences
Structured Classifiers8%Moderate
Actions7%Underpins Activities, Alf and fUML
Alf6%Textual action language
fUML6%Execution semantics
StateMachines5%Smaller but concept-dense
Common Behavior3%Smallest; cover efficiently

Three areas, Common Structure, Classification and The MOF & Metamodeling, account for 47% of the exam between them. That is the clearest argument for front-loading your effort. A full breakdown of each area lives in our guide to all 11 OCUP2 content areas.

A short, OCUP2-specific scheduling idea

If you only have a handful of weeks, schedule by dependency rather than by chapter order. Begin with Common Structure and Classification, since later areas build on them. Move to The MOF & Metamodeling next, because metamodel thinking changes how you read the rest of the specification. Group Actions, Activities, Alf and fUML together, since Alf and fUML both rely on action semantics. Finish with Interactions, Structured Classifiers, StateMachines and Common Behavior, then spend your final days on timed practice. Fewer wasted study weeks means a lower chance of paying for a retake.

Key Takeaway

The cheapest certification is the one you pass on the first attempt. Spend your hours in proportion to the published weights, and use cancellation inside the 24-hour window as a safety valve rather than sitting an exam you are not ready for.

Three-Year Validity and the Cost of Staying Certified

The certification expires three years after the examination. According to the issuer, to extend validity you take the same or a higher-level exam. In practical terms, staying current is not free: maintaining the credential means paying for another exam fee at some point within the cycle.

That makes the true cost of ownership higher than a single payment. If you plan to keep the credential on your profile for years, treat the exam fee as a cost that may recur roughly every three years, subject to whatever the issuer charges when you renew. We have not verified any separate renewal fee beyond sitting an exam, so confirm current terms with OMG.

Whether that recurring cost pays off depends on the roles you are targeting. For context on how the credential is used in hiring, see OCUP2 jobs and, for the compensation question, our OCUP2 salary guide. We do not quote salary figures here because none are verified.

Sample Budget Scenarios

The scenarios below describe what to include rather than inventing totals, because the lower-level exam fees and your study-resource choices vary.

ScenarioLine items to include
Hold Foundation and Intermediate; first-attempt passAdvanced exam fee (US$350 plus taxes); optional study materials; possible travel to a test center
Hold Foundation and Intermediate; need one retakeAll of the above, plus a second exam fee reduced by the 20% retake code from your score report
Starting from the beginningFoundation fee; Intermediate fee; Advanced fee (US$350 plus taxes); preparation for all three levels
Renewing after three yearsAnother qualifying exam fee, as required by the issuer to extend validity

A candidate who studies with a well-defined scope, confirms their time allowance, books inside a window where they can still cancel for a refund, and reads the score report if things go wrong is protected against most of the avoidable costs. Before committing, you may also want to review the OCUP2 passing score explanation so you know exactly what the 57-of-90 target means for your practice results. If you are new to the program itself, What Is OCUP2? gives the background, and for a practical way to rehearse the question style, try the OCUP2 Exam Prep practice tests.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the OCUP2 Advanced exam cost?

The listed price is US$350 plus applicable taxes, with regional currency equivalents shown by the provider. The final amount you pay depends on your location and local tax rules.

Do I have to pass other exams before OCUP2 Advanced?

Yes. Passing the UML 2 Foundation and Intermediate examinations is required. Their fees add to the total cost if you have not already earned those levels, so check the current prices on the issuer's certification page.

Can I get my money back if I cancel?

According to the issuer's sheet, canceling more than 24 hours before the scheduled exam permits a full refund. Canceling later than that is not covered by that statement, so confirm the exact terms with the provider when you book.

Is there a discount if I fail and retake the exam?

A candidate who does not pass should check the score report for a 20% retake discount code. Other details, such as a required waiting period between attempts, are not verified here, so check the current policy before rebooking.

How long does the certification last, and what does it cost to keep it?

The certification expires three years after the exam. The issuer says to take the same or a higher-level exam to extend validity, so renewal means paying another exam fee. No separate renewal fee has been verified beyond that.

Ready to pass your OCUP2 exam?

Put this into practice with free OCUP2 questions across every exam domain.